Job Search

My very last class is in 4 DAYS, I graduate in 13 DAYS and I’ve got to finish up my final project, write my commencement speech, and continue work in my internship.  I’m feeling a little crazed as all of this comes together but I couldn’t be more excited.

Internship

After I graduate I will continue to work for Lewis & Clark Outfitters  designing a brand new retail store that they are bring to the University of Arkansas campus.  It will be located right next to TCBY in the Garland parking garage.  I have been blessed to be involved with quite a bit of the process.  Things that I have done up to now and will do include but are not limited to:

  • Space Planning
  • Furniture, Fixture, and Finish Selections
  • Concept Ideation
  • Store “Theme” Design
  • Signage Design
  • Custom Fixture Design
  • Marketing Ideation
  • Merchandise Selection

I am very excited to get the store under construction in the next week.  All of the planning up to this point will start to come together and I cannot wait to see the finished project.  Keep up with my blog and I will start posting updates on that after graduation!

Commencement Speech

My commencement speech…Where should I start…No really.  Where should I start?  I have been awarded the Senior Scholar award which is given to the person with the highest GPA in the Fay Jones School of Architecture.  I knew that throughout my college career I worked incredibly hard to do my very best in everything that was put in front of me.  I did not however, think that I would end up with this award… I guess I assumed that everyone else was working just as hard as me and were at the same level as me.  In NO WAY did I think that I would have the highest grade point average.  I feel very blessed to have received this award and recognition for all of my hard work.  I am also overwhelmed by the idea of speaking in front of a hundred or more people, but I REALLY have to get on top of this.  My goal this week is to get it written so that I can become familiar with it by graduation.

My goals for my commencement speech are to make it:

  • Not too long
  • Not too short
  • Not boring
  • Funny in some way
  • Make sense 😉
  • Not ramble on and on

Basically, I just need to get started on this and I’ll update you all on my progress next week!

My mom and husband were able to come to the awards ceremony to see me receive my award.

Job Search

My blog post IS titled Job Search, so I should probably talk about that.  I have not spent a lot of time searching for a job just yet because I am working for Lewis and Clark currently on the retail design and will continue to work for them after graduation until the store is finished and open!  We are wanting the store to be open around June 1st and I will probably be with them until mid June early July.  Therefore, I have not worried myself with finding a job just yet because I won’t be able to start for a while.  I have been focused on one firm in particular, Harrison French, in Bentonville, Arkansas.  Many interior design students have graduated and gone on to work for this company.

I have done quite a bit of research the past few days just to start looking at my other options and to get my resume out to multiple firms.  I will probably start that process after graduation so that I can put more of my focus into it.  I have a large list of opportunities and I am excited for wherever my future takes me.  I am not worried about finding a job at this moment.  I know that I can always go back and work for my favorite boss at MACA Clothe (A REALLY cute women’s boutique in Fayetteville, Arkansas).  I absolutely love what I do and I have a serious passion for Interior Design, but I’ve got my whole life ahead of me to do that.  I will have my degree in 2 weeks and that is what matters to me!  I plan to take one day at a time and God will guide me where he wants me.

Keep up with me and I will continue to post about my life’s adventures!

JMC ❤

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

